Andrew Lovett was born in Glasgow, Scotland in 1962, and grew up in London, England. He studied at Cambridge University, The Guildhall School of Music and Drama and City University, London. He currently resides in the USA. He became a citizen in July 2017.

Lovett worked as a freelance composer, based in Cambridge, UK, specialising in chamber-music, electroacoustic music, opera, music-theatre and music for theatre and film. He forged an especially strong collaboration with London-based ensemble, The Electric Voice Theatre, composing three operas for them between 2005 and 2009.

He joined the Department of Music at Princeton University as a Professional Specialist in 2009.

Compositions include: Voyage (1997) for chamber orchestra and electronics; Unknown Terrors (2000) for cello, keyboard and electronics; The Colour of Sadness (2003) for saxophone and electronics; Abraham on Trial (2005) - opera in two acts for five singers and electronics; Three Poems by Miroslav Holub (2008) for mezzo-soprano and piano; Lonely Sits the City (2009) - opera in one act for soprano and electronics; Beauty and Secrets (2010) for chamber ensemble; On the Curves of the Winds (2013) for solo cello and electronics; Aelia Capitolina (2013) for multichannel surround-sound electronics; O Absalom (2015) for countertenor and electronics; Valediction (2016) surround-sound electronics; The Analysing Engine (2017) - opera in one act for six singers and seven instruments; Let’s Talk (2018) for multichannel surround-sound electronics.

He also has a strong interest in music for silent films and performs regularly as an improvising pianist for screenings.


Curriculum Vitae:

Music Education

1997 PhD in Electroacoustic composition at The City University, London

1986 Post-graduate Certificate in Composition, Guildhall School of Music and Drama, London

1985 BA (Hons) Music, Magdalene College, Cambridge

1973 - 1982 Trinity College of Music Junior Department


1989 International Dance Course for Professional Composers and Choreographers

1987, 1988 Dartington International Summer School (Ivan Tcherepnin, Stephen Montague)

1984, 1985 Bayreuth International Summer School, Germany (Zbigniev Rudzinski)

1982, 83, 84 Dartington International Summer School (Peter Maxwell Davies and Robert Saxton)


2016 MacDowell Fellowship

2014 MacDowell Fellowship

2006 Arts Council Fellowship to participate in Music Centre Winter Residency Programme, Banff, Canada

2005 Arts Council Grant for the Arts Award to compose Act 1 of DON’T BREATHE A WORD

2004 Arts Council Grant for the Arts Award to compose ABRAHAM ON TRIAL

2004 Bursary from PVALab to study new software for audio and video

2003 EAJC Grant to support the composition Abraham On Trial

2001 John Ireland Award, The Worshipful Company of Musicians

2000 Sonic Arts Network Commission to compose UNKNOWN TERRORS

1994 Michael Vyner Trust, commission for VOYAGE

1993 Wingate Scholarship for development of opera project

1993 Royal Over-Seas League PRS Award for WILDFIRE

1992 Stephen Arlen Award (English National Opera)

1992 Résidence from Bourges International Festival for THE LYRE OF THE WEST WIND

1988 Ralph Vaughan Williams Trust Composers’ Award for STRING QUARTET

1988 Lewis Silkin National Composers’ Competition for IN CIRCLES

1988 Arts Council Electroacoustic Bursary for THE BRONZE HORSEMAN

1987 Tippett Award (Dartington Summer School) for ABOVE A DARKENED LANDSCAPE